leannecookingforthefamily

Just another WordPress.com site

Cake making 2012 challenge continues…

on June 11, 2012

Juggling cake baking and looking after a toddler has left me with very little time to blog lately, so I’m sorry for my disappearing act!  However, I now hope to update you on what creations I’ve been working on … during my lunch break at work!

My 2012 challenge of making cakes for every family member/friend’s birthday or special occasion has kept me busy these past few weeks.

First, it was my husband’s cousin’s birthday (who is also a good friend) so I wanted to try out the skills I learnt at the course (see last post) as well as preparation for my daughter’s 2nd birthday cake.  So, I baked my first ball-shaped cake in a pyrex 1 litre glass bowl.  It felt very strange not using a tin for the first time!  And the first time I made a madeira cake.

Then I used butter icing for the centre and to create a coating all over the cake ready to drape the regal icing over the ‘ball’ shape.  I put the bow on top.

The night before I had made butterflies and flowers from regal icing and they were nice and solid ready to glue (edible glue!) onto the cake.

Here is the finished cake:

Image

The recipient was very pleased, and her family liked it so much that her son asked: “Do you think Leanne knows it’s my birthday in July?”!!!  Well I do now and already have a plan of what to make for his birthday!

Keep an eye out for more cakes soon as I’ve made quite a lot recently.  I really should have called this blog ‘leanne baking for the family’ rather than ‘cooking’ as I’ve not done much creative cookery lately.  Ah well.  There’s always time for that when I’m bored of cakes!

3 responses to “Cake making 2012 challenge continues…

  1. What an amazing cake! I can imagine how weird it must have felt baking it in a pyrex bowl, did it rise up naturally into that lovely round shape? I love your butterflies and flowers, it all looks too good to eat.

    • leanneregan says:

      Thank you very much :) It did rise a lot which was great! I did feel quite sad giving it away to be eaten, never to be seen again – thank goodness for photos.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

