leannecookingforthefamily

Just another WordPress.com site

A cake fit for the Queen

on June 20, 2012

Following on from my jubilee cupcakes which weren’t as royal a blue as I’d hoped for … I had a lot more success with my union jack lemon cake.

A friend at work is obsessed with everything ‘British’ at the moment – he is a volunteer to help at the Olympics over the next few months, wears union jack t-shirts most days and is having a union jack birthday party in July also.  As he knows I am on a cake baking mission in 2012 he asked me if I’d make him a union jack cake for his party.  I jumped at the chance!  

So with it being the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee at the beginning of this month I decided to take the opportunity to make a trial run for our Jubilee BBQ (as mentioned in my previous post).  It was lemon cake (as per my colleague’s request) and Asda had a brilliant promotion on jubilee icing – the perfect amount of red white and blue for the cake.

Here is the trial run:

Image

There are a few changes I’ll make when I make the birthday cake next month.  I don’t think I’ll tuck the icing under the cake – I will bring it straight down onto the board for a cleaner edge.  And I won’t lay one white stripe over the other, but cut them so they line up next to each other where they meet.  But overall I was pretty pleased and it was good fun to make.  Especially as I was in a very jubilee-ish mood!

I’ll be in a Team GB Olympic mood in July so will enjoy making this again then :)

2 responses to “A cake fit for the Queen

  1. That’s absolutely marvellous! Are you thinking of going into the bespoke cake trade? I think you could, you know.

    • leanneregan says:

      That’s very kind Lorna :) I started off this year thinking I just like making cakes so want to make them for friends and family, but the more practice I get the more I think I would like to do it as a job! But don’t think that will happen in the near future! Need to go on a lot more courses :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

