leannecookingforthefamily

Just another WordPress.com site

It’s been a while … hope this cake was worth the wait

on August 19, 2012

I’ve been very slack lately and my blogging seems to have fallen by the wayside… tut tut, bad blogger!

I haven’t been as slack with the cake-baking though, so I’ve got some catching up to do on here.

So I’ll start with the latest one as it’s my biggest achievement so far – a two-tiered cake for my best friend’s baby shower this weekend.

It was chocolate cake – I used buttermilk and bicarbonate of soda for the first time in this one.  And the recipe also had boiling water in it…very strange, but worked very well and they were the tallest cakes I’d ever made.

I forgot to take a picture before the icing went on, but there was a heck of a lot of butter cream between the 7 layers (there were meant to be 8 layers but the top cake was so tall I left one off!).

Here’s the bottom section:

 

I am still not very good at getting the icing to go straight at the bottom – I always end up with creases, lumps and bumps.  Also the cake is never perfectly smooth, as you’ll see when I put the lines on the bottom, they are a bit ‘in and out’!

The next layer’s on and the stripes are going on too…

 

I tried to cover up the creases at the bottom with thick stripes!

I used colours to match the paper plates/napkins I’d bought for the shower – and turquoise is my best friend’s favourite colour so I just had to use this of course!

Here’s the finished article with a pretty bow on top, and my best friend’s name imprinted too:

and on the back, another imprint just to finish it off…

 

My friend loved the cake – as did the guests.  It was maybe a bit too rich for the hottest day of the year so far in the UK!!  I think strawberries and cream might have been a better option, but it was delicious nevertheless!

I’ll post more cakes again soon…sooner than it’s been since my last post that’s for sure :)

 

 

8 responses to “It’s been a while … hope this cake was worth the wait

  1. cht7 says:

    Beautiful cake! Thanks for sharing your work!

  2. Oh my goodness! What a lot of work, but I think it turned out really well!

  3. Wow, that cake is huge (7 layers?!)! It must take you ages to do all this, baking the cakes, assembling them and then icing. It’s a labour of love, and you do a magnificent job of it. Did you think up the design yourself?

    • leanneregan says:

      Thank you Lorna, I did look on google images to get some ideas so it’s a mixture of lots of different cakes! The baking wasn’t too time consuming but the icing certainly was – I nearly threw it out the window at several stages!! x

  4. mummykins82 says:

    It was delicious but does sound like a very strange recipe! To fill in the wonky bits you would have needed so much icing that I don’t think it would have tasted as good, so I think you made the right call :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

