leannecookingforthefamily

Just another WordPress.com site

Dairy free carbonara

on October 3, 2012

I’m sure most people are like me and get bored of cooking the same dishes over and over again. So I took a look through our numerous cooking books (so numerous that the kitchen shelf tends to bend a bit in the middle – I’m trying to ignore this!). I always see carbonara and I love creamy pasta dishes, but I can’t eat cheese and my husband can’t eat any dairy (poor thing), so I thought it was a bit of a no no. Then I thought I might as well give it a try using soya cream and no cheese.

I had roast chicken left over from the Sunday roast (all the lovely juicy leg and wing parts) and a pack of bacon medallions (no fatty bits on them). I cut the bacon into strips and fried it until it was cooked, then added the chicken to the pan to heat that up too.

I also had a courgette that had seen better days so chopped off the bad part and then finely diced that up with an onion and 3 garlic cloves, and fried them in olive oil.

Then mixed all the meat and vegetables into the same pan and tipped 1.5 cartons of soya cream onto them and mixed together.

I added some dried savoury herbs and dried sage to the sauce, and some black pepper (didn’t need salt thanks to the bacon).

Left it to simmer while I cooked tagliatelle and garlic bread (a must!!).

I am very bad and never taste my food while I’m cooking it – I wait until it’s on the plate when it’s rather too late if anything tastes wrong! But this time I was very lucky and it tasted amazing :) My 2 year old loved the bacon, chicken and garlic bread! My husband was on a course in London so was a bit late home so his portion had had time to truly infuse the flavours and he thought it was really delicious.

So there’s a new dish for me to relieve the boredom I’d fallen into :)

Tonight I cooked pork loins in a nice marinade, so I’ll have to write a post about them too soon.

3 responses to “Dairy free carbonara

  1. maddy61 says:

    Sounds very yummy, and healthy too, with the 3 cloves of garlic!

  2. Necessity is the mother of invention and what could be more satisfying and comforting than a tasty pasta dish? I could eat the cheese and milk all right (very sorry for you and the husband with your allergies) and not being a meat eater I’d substitute the chicken and bacon for some veggies, I think. I love courgettes and thinking about your dish now is making me feel rather peckish…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

