leannecookingforthefamily

Just another WordPress.com site

Veggie Muffins – may help you see in the dark!

on February 10, 2012

Well, I can’t guarantee that’s a proven fact, but I eat a lot of carrots and see well in the dark. More importantly, it’s what my Mum told me as a child and everyone knows mothers are always right.  Even more so now I am a mother myself!

Neither my husband nor daughter are keen on carrots but they love these carrot and raisin muffins.  It’s a recipe I’ve adapted over time and seems to work well every time.

1) Peel and grate 2 carrots (small/medium sized will do nicely)

2) Add to a bowl with 1 whisked egg and a handful of raisins

3) Add 2 tbsp milk and 1 tbsp oil

4) In another bowl mix 75g plain flour, 15g light brown sugar and 1tsp baking powder

5) Mix all ingredients together and bake in muffin cases for 15 minutes at 200°C

Et voila, lovely muffins!

Image

Adults and children seem to love them – my daughter refers to them as ‘cakes’ and they’re a great fail-safe if she doesn’t eat her dinner as I know they’re full of healthy goodness.

Make great party food of the healthier kind.

For parents who avoid giving their children sugar, you could probably leave it out and the raisins will give a fairly sweet flavour but it’s such a small amount of sugar I don’t think it’ll cause any teeth to fall out!

Alternative ingredient combinations worth trying are:

– courgette and carrot (1 of each)

– banana and raisin (1 v ripe mashed up banana)

– cheese and leek (handful of grated cheese and half a large leek) – these are particularly tasty!

Let me know if you try out the recipe and what your family thought of the muffins!?!

 

6 responses to “Veggie Muffins – may help you see in the dark!

  1. MamaMoo says:

    there are parents who avoid giving their children sugar? maybe that will be my next parenting challenge. these look yummy!

  2. These look great, and very easy to do. When I try them I’ll let you know how I got on. I like the idea of the courgettes.

  3. Yay! I love these muffins, and so does my 15 month old. Thanks for sharing the recipe 😀

  4. I’ve made courgette cakes before and they are really moist! I think veggies in cakey things are a great idea. :o)

  5. eva626 says:

    finally i found a recipe with veggies and muffins. great stuff..i have to make this!!!

  6. Smitha George says:

    Its a lovely recipe …cant wait to try these.. will update you on how it turned out.

Leave a Reply

