leannecookingforthefamily

Just another WordPress.com site

Growing our own (so we can eat our own)

on March 23, 2012

It was such a sunny day today that I couldn’t resist getting outside and planting vegetable seeds with my daughter.  

I wish I had the skill, time, inclination, space and weather to grow all the vegetables we eat ourselves, but I’ll just have to make do with growing a few of our favourites.  

I’ve still got courgette, tomato and lettuce seeds from a couple of years’ ago so we’ve started off with those to see if they germinate.  I also want to get basil, cucumber and pepper seeds to give them a go too.  I think we might be a bit late for potatoes – but I really love growing them as it’s so satisfying when you harvest them 🙂

We haven’t got a very large garden so I am planning on growing the veggies in pots rather than in the ground.  I’m hoping this might deter the slugs too!

So here is propagator number one ready to go into the cold frame.  

Image

I find it amazing that a tray of seeds in soil will (hopefully) turn into loads of tomato, courgette and lettuce plants!

As you can imagine, a 22 month old only has a short attention span so she soon got fed up and we played with boxes instead … can you spot her?!

Image

I’ll let you know how the vegetables (although I just realised that tomatoes are officially a fruit!) come along.

3 responses to “Growing our own (so we can eat our own)

  1. There really is nothing quite like growing your own vegetables. I agree about harvesting potatoes, it’s like finding treasure underground, very exciting!

  2. Thankx for visiting my blog today! I am thinking about planting a few things, but I live in an apartment… Do you think the pots give enough space for the roots?

    • leanneregan says:

      I can imagine an apartment is tricky. For lettuce and herbs the roots aren’t too big but anything else I think unless you’ve got a really sturdy window box it would be hard. Although maybe cherry tomatoes from a hanging basket?

Leave a Reply

