leannecookingforthefamily

Just another WordPress.com site

Is it a cake, is it a crumble…?

on April 20, 2012

I’m sure I’m not alone in finding it hard to come up with dessert ideas for the family.  My daughter doesn’t like drinking milk so I’m always looking for ways to get rice pudding, custard or yoghurt into her.  But with a dairy intolerant husband, that tends to leave poor S with no dessert!

My husband loves raspberries and we had a lonely-looking cooking apple in the cupboard so I put those ingredients into google and found this link:

http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/1585637/raspberry-and-apple-crumble-squares

I used soya milk and dairy free margarine instead of milk and butter, of course.  I don’t have a square or rectangular cake tin so had to go for the traditional round cake tin so mine didn’t look quite like the one on the BBC website!  I also had to cook it for about 20-30 minutes longer as my tin was quite deep.  The cake at the bottom was nice and stodgy, and the crumble was lovely and … crumbly!!  The flavours of the apples and raspberries really complimented each other.  Most importantly, my husband loved it – and so did I.  As I can eat milk more than S can, I had ice cream with my slice, which melted beautifully and went perfectly with this dessert.

Here is a picture of my (very different to the above!) crumble cake:

Image

I hope to buy a square/rectangular cake tin soon so I can try this recipe as it was intended, but in the meantime I will continue to make my lovely stodgy version!

Leave a Reply

